Real Madrid champions of Europe for the twelfth time

Real Madrid is the European champion for the third time in four seasons, defeating Juventus 4-1 in the UEFA Champions League final at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, Wales on Saturday.

Cristiano Ronaldo scored the opening goal in the 20th minute, but Juventus answered minutes later with a stunning goal from Mario Mandzukic to make it 1-1 at halftime.

In the 61st minute, a shot from Real Madrid’s Casemiro was deflected and beat Juventus goalkeeper Gigi Buffon to give Madrid the lead. Minutes later, Ronaldo put in his second goal of the game to take control of the match.

Substitute Marco Asensio added insult to injury in the 90th minute, scoring Madrid’s fourth on the receiving end of a low cross from Marcelo.

Juventus’ Juan Cuadrado was sent off lent in the second half for a second yellow card.

The European title is Real Madrid’s 12th, the most of any club – and marks the first time that a team has won in back-to-back years since AC Milan in 1989 and 1990.

600 goals

Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo netted his 600th goal for club and country.

Ronaldo, 32, earlier became the only player alongside Alfredo Di Stefano to score in three different European Cup/Champions League finals. The Portugal winger scored in the 2008 final for Man United and the 2014 final for Real Madrid.

His second goal in Cardiff was his 105th in the Champions League, putting him well clear of Lionel Messi (94) at the top of the all-time scoring list. And it made him this season’s Champions League top scorer with 12.

The goal was also his 600th of all-time. He has scored 406 in 394 games for Real Madrid; 118 in 292 for Manchester United; five in 31 for Sporting Lisbon; and also 71 in 138 games for his country, Portugal.

In total, his 600 goals have come from a remarkable 855 games.